Václav Havel
International Prize for
Creative Dissent

The world’s top prize for creative dissent.





The Václav Havel International Prize for Creative Dissent is an annual prize that honors the legacy of former HRF chairman Václav Havel and celebrates those who, with bravery and ingenuity, unmask the lie of dictatorship by living in truth.



Ai Weiwei, Chinese artist

Manal al-Sharif, Saudi women’s rights activist



Ali Ferzat, Syrian political cartoonist

Ladies in White, Cuban civil society group

Park Sang Hak, North Korean democracy activist



Dhondup Wangchen, Tibetan documentary filmmaker

Erdem Gunduz, Turkish protester and performance artist

Pussy Riot, Russian punk rock protest group



El Sexto, Cuban graffiti artist and activist

Girifna, Sudanese nonviolent resistance movement

Sakdiyah Ma’ruf, Indonesian stand-up comedian



Atena Farghadani, Iranian cartoonist

Umida Akhmedova, Uzbek photojournalist



Aayat Alqormozi, Bahraini poet

El Chigüire Bipolar, Venezuelan satirical media project

Silvanos Mudzvova, Zimbabwean actor and activist



Belarus Free Theater, underground theater group

Emmanuel Jal, South Sudanese hip-hop artist and former child soldier

Mai Khoi, Vietnamese pop singer and activist